Pirit and CAMCO Hose Reviews

Half the calls we receive are from folks who have purchased either the Pirit or CAMCO heated water hose.  Here is what they have to say in their own words.

on February 14, 2018
Didnt even last for 1 winter!!! Lotta money to spend on something that dont last very long!! very unhappy!!!
on January 5, 2018
Bought this hose in late October 2017 and was very excited to see snow melted around it. Worked well until last night. Product description says it will keep water from freezing down to minus 42. My water froze at minus 3 with. The hose is very well protected with no driving over it at all.

I was not happy to see I have no water because the hose/heating element failed.

I bought the protection plan. I guess I'll see how fast I can get another one!
on December 29, 2017
I have a farm in Maine and need to water cattle on a daily basis. I have bought four of these hoses over the years- only because it seems to be one of the only products on the market and I prefer to buy through Amazon. All of them freeze up when the temperature drops slightly below freezing. Three of the four have flat out died. I would not recommend this product to anyone that has cold winters. I always end up dragging five gallon buckets to the cow pen. Not much fun with 100+ gallons a day.

The design is also poor. Linking two hoses up requires running an electric cord to the middle of the connection- another hassle when there's snow on the ground.

I recommend the five gallon buckets or running out old fashioned garden hoses and bringing them back into the heated garage when done. It is a lot cheaper and you won't lose you mind every winter.
on December 27, 2016
The faucet junction can still freeze up though.

Update: now into second year of use. Because the faucet can still freeze a started spooling the hose after every use on a unit that can be wheeled inside. The other night while spooling immediately after using it ruptured in an area that was not linked or had any other visible signs of trouble prior to the rupture. Happened while on the spool. Very weird and unexpected. Seemed like a sturdy hose. Just bought a heavy duty contractor hose. We’ll see if that holds up better.
on July 3, 2017
I took a chance on this hose despite the reviews being hit and miss. This was a big miss. It worked okay for a while but the electrical wire shorted out and overheated melting the hose. I'd seen this on other reviews on a potential downfall and there it is. Too late to return.
on December 30, 2016
Did not last a week. Great hose and fittings, but outside it quit Imust admit a garden tractor roled over it but cmon it should survive that with big soft wheels and lots of turf, still soft ,under it .
on April 26, 2016
It worked fine for a couple months when I first got it in mid winter, but then it stopped working. Whenever the outside temperature was below freezing, the hose froze and was useless! Leaving it pugged in for hours or days didn't do anything, it stopped heating altogether.
on January 17, 2018
Worked for the first few months. Now we are in January and the thermostat is not working and I keep calling the Pirit phone number and no one calls me back. I bought insurance and filed a claim with no response either. Very frustrated...
on December 13, 2016
This is at least the 6th heated hose that I have purchased, both Pirit and other brands. This one was nonfunctional out of the box, and this has occurred before, but it strikes me that the ONLY way that a manufacturer can create a product that works so poorly (if at all) is by charging so much more than the manufacturing cost, that they can afford to replace them over and over and over again. I thought MAYBE by buying the 50 foot hose versus the 100 foot hose that I'd have more luck. Nope. This one didn't work out of the box. Froze the first night. Put it back into a heated room, defrosted it, plugged it in again (twice) and still have a frozen hose. The rep previously had replaced my 100 foot hose twice, and while occassionally the 50 footer lasted a season, I've never had ANY heated hose last more than one season (and only two have lasted one). NEED MORE PRODUCT DEVELOPMENT! It's not that cold here, yet!
on January 16, 2017
This is our second Pirit heated hose. Our first one finally quit after about 3 years of use. We bit the bullet and decided to purchase another one after a failed attempt at heat tape and insulation. We used the new hose for the first time last night and it froze right away. The temperature only dropped down to 13 degrees, and this hose is supposedly rated to -40 degrees. I requested a replacement in hopes that our first one was just bad luck. Crossing our fingers that the new does as designed; it's never fun fighting with your water in the middle of winter.
on June 5, 2016
First season this kept water flowing all winter never froze worked great. Second season the thermostat fails and hose freezes and ruptures around spigot spraying water which shorted out my electrical under a sheet of ice. After many cordial emails with customer service they refused to replace their faulty hose being it was past 1 year despite only being used for 4 months. They just made excuses.
First they claimed I must have heated the thermostat but my photos show that was the opposite end. Then they claimed it wasn't their hose till I provided more photos showing it was. Finally it was I've owned it too long.
True. One season is apparently all it is good for.
The hose was used for 4 months period. That hose failed through no fault of my own. It didn't even get touched once it was hooked up.
We'll that was my experience. Good luck.
on December 29, 2017
We purchased this product to use on our 5th wheel, which we currently live in. We installed it and had it ready to plug before the weather turned cold. On the first night we had a hard freeze and needed it the most it quit working. We woke up to frozen and busted lines. Luckily we had heat tape on standby. I have not been able to find a way to contact the seller and there is no option to return or replace. $150 dollars down the drain!!!
on January 12, 2015
...the product gets 3 stars based on an important design flaw, there is no way to monitor the power ON, or on/off state of the thermostat; only by "blind faith" that it is working properly. Your first indication of an operational failure would be a frozen hose!

For the cost of this product, the manufacture should design a simple neon lamp indicator that would show when the thermostat has been triggered to the ON state. I have just connected the hose to my RV water system, so I cannot make a comment on its performance until the next freeze here in the Atlanta area...

Reduced to ONE star, hose failed after only a few months of usage, developed a pin hold leak, was not over pressure limitations!
on February 7, 2018
We purchased the hose Dec 1 and it stopped working by Feb 5. Seller would not help us. We did buy the extended warranty so I will be trying to get help from the warranty. The hose was wonderful - until it wasn't. It was kept inside a barn out of the weather. It stopped heating completely. This is a very expensive product and it should work for more than 2 months before failing. I cannot recommend this hose to anyone.
on February 9, 2016
5th Pirit heated hose I have purchased for my horse barn in 3 years - they work for 30 -45 days, then freeze up just like the regular hoses. I keep trying different or more expensive Pirit heated hose models and every one does the same thing. Don't waste your money! Just buy 4 or 5 regular hoses and keep switching them out when one freezes - you will save a ton of money and get the same results!
on February 16, 2018
I have received 2 of these hoses. The first one burst the first time I turned it on. The second one burst about 3 weeks after I started using it. TrueValueSuperStore told me that it was my responsibility to contact the manufacturer and have refused to respond to my request for either: replacement or refund. I finally contacted the manufacturer Pirit myself and they are also not returning my calls Do not buy this product!
on November 21, 2017
Used this for two months and it died already. It was never moved, or anything that would cause the heating element to break. I’m going back to making homemade heated hoses.
on September 15, 2016
This was a terrible product. The ends still freeze during the winter, which is the opposite of what it is made for. It also has a terrible seal on the end of the connectors. The end connectors have finally completely cracked through the metal and is now useless. I do not recommend anyone purchase this product.
on March 21, 2017
It worked for a few months, then stopped warming up. I am sending it back in hopes they can fix it.
on January 15, 2017
I had great hope for this hose for the new York winter but after one night, the water froze in the hose. It worked for exactly one night so I know it was working. I wish someone had a good alternative. This was an expensive mistake and I will be sending it back for a refund.
on December 24, 2016
Do NOT buy this- it does NOT WORK! So disappointed, froze immediately in 30 degree weather. Thermostat has never worked. Can't wait to try to unfreeze it so I can put it back in the box to return it.
 
on October 28, 2017
We live in the Colorado mountains at 9400 feet of elevation, on the third night in two weeks that the temperature dropped to around 20-22 degrees F this hose failed....very disappointing. I guess we'll try another manufacturer
on January 12, 2016
The heating element failed in less than 5 days, then the hose froze & failed. Let's see how long the replacement lasts.
on December 13, 2016
Well built, it better than the competition but it does not work below -4..... This is my 3rd one
on December 8, 2016
I bought this hose one year ago. It worked for the few times we needed it last winter. Does not work now.
on December 28, 2017
This hose was only used for two months before it failed. Wish I didn't hold onto it for the summer/fall time period before I used it. Too late to return it.
on December 13, 2017
First night out of the box bought early to prep for winter. Hose froze at 22 degrees. Amazon how do I get my money back?
on March 8, 2015
I bought November 15 and the heater quit working March 3. I recommend buying from someone who offers a warranty if you need a heated hose because Amazon.com does not warranty after 30 days.
on February 28, 2015
I ordered this hose and installed it on my camper. Within three hours it had a small ( about the size of a pencil lead) leak where water squirted out. I contacted amazon and they replaced it. Since I had to wait for two weeks to get the replacement, I insulated a garden hose and used it until the temp got below 20. I then switched to the heated hose to prevent freeze up. I installed that last night, fresh out of the box and it froze solid. I checked the outlet and it has power. Temps outside are 20 above and it froze. I think ill switch back to my makeshift hose. I tried to return this today and I was told the item is no longer eligible for return. I will try to contact the manufacturer and return it under warranty.

on March 31, 2018
Froze up with first freezing night. Waste of money.
on November 6, 2017
Worst thing i've bought in years. Lasted all of one day, came home and the hose had split and was spraying everywhere.
on February 6, 2018
The hose stopped working 5 days after the return window closed. :( Used exactly as manufacturer recommended. It’s been a cold winter, down to -20 F a few times, but mostly hovering in the single digits. I guess this product can’t handle Wisconsin winters.
on January 8, 2017
Used this for one month and it stopped working....was not happy. I am going to buy 2 more and see how these work. If they do not last I will ask for my money back.
on January 3, 2018
Don't really know why but it only lasted a couple of weeks of light use this winter I recommend buying the warranty like I did
on February 5, 2017
I've only had it hooked up for two weeks. Went out this morning to find frozen water. Not good with four horses and for goats in need of a good drink.
on January 6, 2017
Waste of $200. We have a farm and use it for our animals. Just stopped working after only a few months. Don't waste your money.
on February 20, 2018
Junk. Worked great for about 2 days and then froze. Will no longer heat at all. I ended up making one that works much better.
on January 11, 2018
Amazon will not stand behind this product when it stops working, 4 months in. If you chose to puchase this product buy elsewhere!
on February 9, 2016
Waste of Money! Hose froze up in 20° weather. Tried to return it and Twenty's RV WOULD NOT ACCEPT IT! I Recommend not doing any Business with TWEETY'S RV! I KNOW I WON'T IN THE FUTURE!
on December 21, 2015
I've purchased 7 - 100' hoses and 6 - 50' hoses from this vendor. So far three of the 100' and three of the 50' have stopped working. I made sure that I did everything the manufacturer recommended to prevent them from overheating and increase longevity. They aren't even being moved or stepped on. They just go out without warning. I use these hoses to supply water to rig houses and they are killing my company's reputation by freezing when the temperatures are barely in the 20's. I was only able to return two as the others have gone out just outside the return time frame for Amazon. Now I have to replace every one of these hoses, even the working ones, with other hoses because the Pirit's are not reliable. This was a complete waste of $2,500.
on December 27, 2017
Froze in 20 degrees. No water.... Poor product that lasted on 2 weeks.
on November 26, 2014
the first time it got to 0 degrees the hose froze solid......
on February 8, 2015
I am very unhappy with this heated hose because it has quit working just 3 weeks after I started to use it on my farm. It was not run over by equipment or damaged in any way. It just quit working. I have it attached to another brand of heated hose that has worked for 3 years. That brand is no longer available...it was American made. I do not know about this one. I hope someone from the company can make this right and replace the hose and I will gladly ship it back. If they do, I would remove this rating or update it...unless the new hose does the same thing.
on December 9, 2016
It's 23 degrees in Ohio this morning and we have NO WATER because this hose doesn't work. We ordered this hose because we are temporarily full time RVers. We have been terribly inconvenienced by this and are hoping that Sykes Hollow Innovations/Pirit/Amazon...someone will make this right and compensate our huge inconvenience
on November 28, 2015
Does not work! Froze solid
on January 29, 2015
Ive bought 250' of this hose to supply our house when the buried in ground line freezes. Last week it happened and I busted out the heated hoses.water ran great for a half hour or so then slowed down to a stop.This tells me there is an electrical issue in one of the hoses,but it doesnt help the fact that our water has been off for over a week. Tomorrow I will test them and see what happend. They look good,and should work but that dont mean nuttin.If Ihave sections that dont work they will get them back.My star rateing rirgt now is low,maybe that will change.
on November 12, 2014
UPDATE!!! Absolute piece of junk!!! I wish there were more alternatives. Pirit claims their hoses are rated at -20 degrees, this hose froze solid the first night of cold at +30 degrees! Not sure if my water system is damaged now, of course they don't cover the damage caused by freezing! Only the hose itself is covered by warranty! Not sure what I'll do now? Need a good heated hose for drinking water! Couldn't be unhappier!!!
on December 31, 2013
This hose is extremely stiff, difficult to roll up and the thermostat doesn't work properly. The only time the thermostat appears to work is if it is a warm day. Than the hose gets so hot you cannot touch it. I waited quite some time after ordering it to receive it. I am going to return this piece of junk! Don't buy this product. I had to rate with one star because you have to use stars to make a review. This really gets not stars from me!

on August 6, 2015
they do not work well at all in temps that are truly cold. you might as well use a regular hose and drain in. not worth the money
on November 22, 2013
Piece if junk!!
Used it once- I've used a million hoses in my life and this one is by far the worst. I screwed it on the spicket on my rv gently as not to break my rv setup- and guess what? the hose threads just shattered!! What the f!! Never again and I'll tell everyone I know I spent 300.00 to get ripped off:(
6 people found this helpful
on November 5, 2016
Bought this in February of 2016. It's November of 2016 and the heater is dead. These hoses are very delicate and I can't see how the stand up to farm life if it can't hold up to simple stationary home life.
on January 28, 2014
Hooked it up, plugged it in, used it once, unhooked from water source, left it plugged in overnight. It was frozen solid the next morning. Checked the outlet. It worked fine. Am sending it back!
on December 13, 2013
I should have heeded the prior reviews before I purchased this product for $129 for the 50' version three years ago. I used it, as per the instructions, for about one week the first year and one week the second year and not at all last year. When not in use, it was drained and hanging undisturbed in the barn. This year, when a cold spell hit and I plugged in the 'heated' hose; voila, no heat. When I politely contacted Pirit customer service to ask for a replacement, Nancy at Pirit replied, “Our hoses have a one year warranty. Since your hose was purchased 3 years ago, we cannot warranty the hose”. What a waste of time and money.
on October 7, 2014
After going through one of the Pirit hoses each year for 3 years, I finally contacted the Pirit people who have "NEVER" seen my problelm (yeah, right). They sent me a new one, free! Which lasted, wait for it, a year. The next year, I told the salesperson again, and she sent me another hose- for free! Yay! This hose didn't work, even out of the box, and all of a sudden they wanted me to deal with Amazon. NEVER again!
on February 3, 2016
I bought the 100 ft hose a month ago just in time for the bitter cold NJ winter.
So far it has worked perfectly.
I leave it plugged in 24/7 and disconnect it from the faucet with plastic quick connects ( I bought at Lowes)soon as I am done . Plastic quick connects don't get as cold as the brass ones so they don't freeze up . I have them on both ends .On the other end (quick connect )I have a brass sprayer that I bring out with me every morning. And in when I am done.
I don't expect my hose to keep my sprayer or faucet from freezing! It's not designed to do so. Using it this way,
The Pirit hose has not frozen yet. Every morning I have water for my livestock. It is worth every cent I payed for it and more ! So far so Great!
I do have rules so I don't ruin it.
I don't stand on it walk on it or drive anything on it.
Or pull on any of the wires (plug or thermostat).
Again it's has only been a month.
If anything changes I will come back on and say so.
So far I'm glad I didn't listen to the bad reviews.

Feb 14th
Update:
The temperature was like 4' last night
And with the wind chill - 17'
AND MY HOSE WAS FROZEN THIS MORNING !!
Guess who was carrying buckets.
Me..
Today is Sunday lets see what happens when I call them tomorrow. I will update 
on March 12, 2018
Quit heating after 2 months of cold weather :(
on November 22, 2015
Heating element didn't work. Froze on day one. Ended up running heat tape down it and just using it like any other hose. Will Not recommend and will not buy again.
on February 7, 2016
Bought this hose and didn't even have it a month and it quit working. Frustrated!! Don't buy or you will just be throwing your money away!! 0 stars but I had to put 1 to review!
on January 31, 2015
Lasted less than 6 months. Was stored indoors when not in use and well cared for. Total piece of junk.
on October 28, 2017
Really unhappy. This hose barely changes anything. Our water temperate comes from a well pump in a shed and this was supposed to give our animals water that wasn’t freezing to drink. Poor product. It doesn’t change the temperature of the water whatsoever. He hose connections are bulky and the hose itself is difficult to maneuver.

Had I kept the box this item would be sent back immediately.
on February 2, 2015
It was only 35 ft. long. It was supposed to be 50ft. long. Because of that I was unable to use it!
on January 3, 2014
I bought two of these hoses and each of them leaked at the ends where the electrical cord went into the hose. Not at the connectors but because of manufacturing. Very disappointed and alot of time wasted setting it up and returning them
on January 7, 2014
Received it so fast. Hooked it up... and the darn thing leaked at both ends! Between the actual hose and the fittings. Water poured from under the black end covers. Just as quick as I opened it... it got boxed up and sent back. I really expected more from Pirit.
on January 1, 2017
We used it for 3 months and it stopped working. Very disappointed in this product. It has a 1 yr warranty, but the way they have it worded doesn't give me much hope in getting a replacement or refund. We shall see.
on November 13, 2014
Not impressed. Purchased this hose for my husband's RV he stays in during the winter for work. The temperature was almost at zero degrees and it froze. This hose was to work to -40 and we didn't get close to that and the hose froze. Not impressed. Returning Product for refund.
on February 6, 2014
The manufacturer claims it works down to -42 degrees, but that's simply untrue. I've had mine since the end of November and it appears to have quit working. I'll now have to test it under controlled conditions to see if it heats at all. Manufacturer offers a one-year warranty against defects. We'll see if they honor that and just how much it costs me to get a replacement. And how long it will last.
on December 14, 2013
Very disappointing. I used it for about a week with no problems. After which there was one night that the temp dropped to 28° and all the water in the hose was frozen solid. Fortunately it warmed up to 40° and I was able to get the ice out of it. I then checked the outlet that it was plugged into and saw there were no problems there, I also checked to see if the thermostat on the hose was not receiving a false temp reading by being near a heat source, which it was not. So I decided to give it one more try. Next day the water in the hose was frozen solid again. So basically I bought myself a high dollar garden hose with absolutely no protection against cold climates. Save your money and look for other solutions if you need water to your rv or camper in colder climates.
on December 5, 2017
As soon as it turned cold here, it was about 20 degrees last night, this hose froze solid. Seems like it's false advertising for this company to state it will work at below temps when it clearly does not. There are many other reviews stating the same. I'm going to try Pirit for a replacement but also TruValue where we ordered it.
on December 13, 2013
I should have heeded the prior reviews before I purchased this product for $129 for the 50' version three years ago. I used it, as per the instructions, for about one week the first year and one week the second year and not at all last year. When not in use, it was drained and hanging undisturbed in the barn. This year, when a cold spell hit and I plugged in the 'heated' hose; voila, no heat. When I politely contacted Pirit customer service to ask for a replacement, Nancy at Pirit replied, “Our hoses have a one year warranty. Since your hose was purchased 3 years ago, we cannot warranty the hose”. What a waste of time and money.
on November 13, 2014
Piece of junk! Quit working after one week of use! Extremely disappointed! Don't buy this product unless you want to waste $150! If i could give this product 0 stars I would.
on February 19, 2014
The connector to my water float leaks spraying water everywhere. The rubber washer is in place. The leak itself is between the hose itself and the metal screw